ru RU  en EN of The Lodge


Ivan Jelagin

In 1772 Ivan Jelagin, a high-rank governmental official, became the Grand Master of the province. He arranged all the lodges that existed then in Russia into a united system. In addition to Jelagin, other famous masons were members of the Grand Provincial Lodge in St. Petersburg — count R. Vorontsov (District Deputy Grand Master), major general A. Scherbachev, duke I. Nesvitsky and others.

In the first half of the 1770’s Jelagin’s Grand Lodge managed the activities of 14 lodges:

  • Lodge of Muse (Master Ivan Jelagin)
  • Lodge of Urania (Master Vladimir Lukin)
  • Lodge of Bellona (Ivan Nesvitsky)
  • Lodge of Astraea (Jakov Dubiansky)
  • Lodge of Mars (Iasi, Master Piotr Melissino)
  • Lodge of Minerva (baron Gartenberg)
  • Lodge of Modesty (St. Petersburg)
  • Lodge of Clio (Moscow)
  • Lodge of Talia (Moscow – Polotsk)
  • Lodge of Equality (Moscow – St. Petersburg)
  • Lodge of Jekaterina (Arkhangelsk)
  • Lodge of Three Pillars (Arkhangelsk)
  • Lodge of Erato (St. Petersburg)
  • Lodge in Vladimir (Master R. Vorontsov)

From 1800-1861 in Russia there were 5590 members of masonic lodges.

Jelagin actively promulgated freemasonry and improved it, therefore the system of lodges that depended on him was called the “Jelagin System”. At the beginning it was a copy of the English system, later it was affected by other systems, including Rosicrucianism, of which Jelagin always disapproved